Are You Advanced?

CMS released a table of Alternative Payment Models for 2018 that highlights which alternative payment models (APMs) qualify as Advanced APMs this year.  Wow, I am so excited.  It’s almost like the feeling you would get if the Publisher’s Clearing House people came to your house.  Before anyone gets too ecstatic, though, you first need to know the rules:

The document lists three criteria an APM must meet to be designated an Advanced APM. First, it must require participants to use certified electronic health record technology (CEHRT). Second, it must rely on quality measures comparable to those used under the Merit-based Incentive Payment System (MIPS) as the basis for providing payments.  Third, it must either “be a Medical Home Model expanded under CMS Innovation Center authority” or require participating entities to assume a greater degree of financial risk.

Got it?  Good.  Now here is the list 38 APMs, 10 of which qualify as Advanced APMs, including the Bundled Payments for Care Improvement Advanced Model:

Okay, so are you a winner?  Are you “Advanced”?  I know I am. Hooray!!!!

(Click here to sign up for your free bonus weekly newsletter.  No spam. Ever.)


Douglas Farrago MD

Douglas Farrago MD is a full-time practicing family doc in Forest, Va. He started Forest Direct Primary Care where he takes no insurance and bills patients a monthly fee. He is board certified in the specialty of Family Practice. He is the inventor of a product called the Knee Saver which is currently in the Baseball Hall of Fame. The Knee Saver and its knock-offs are worn by many major league baseball catchers. He is also the inventor of the CryoHelmet used by athletes for head injuries as well as migraine sufferers. Dr. Farrago is the author of four books, two of which are the top two most popular DPC books. From 2001 – 2011, Dr. Farrago was the editor and creator of the Placebo Journal which ran for 10 full years. Described as the Mad Magazine for doctors, he and the Placebo Journal were featured in the Washington Post, US News and World Report, the AP, and the NY Times. Dr. Farrago is also the editor of the blog Authentic Medicine which was born out of concern about where the direction of healthcare is heading and the belief that the wrong people are in charge. This blog has been going daily for more than 15 years Article about Dr. Farrago in Doximity Email Dr. Farrago – [email protected] 

  3 comments for “Are You Advanced?

  1. Pat
    February 10, 2018 at 8:32 am

    Funny, since being “a Medical Home Model expanded under CMS Innovation Center authority” would subject you to a greater degree of financial risk anyway.

  2. Shane Purcell, MD
    February 10, 2018 at 8:12 am

    Here dogy dogy…get the stick…get the stick. Good boy. That’s a god boy. Here’s your treat.

    • Perry
      February 10, 2018 at 12:43 pm

      Whoppps doggie went over the cliff..,

Comments are closed.